Florida Turn Signal Law: Are Turn Signals Required in Florida?

When it comes to traffic laws, every driver is aware of the basic requirements of being on the road — wearing a seatbelt, obeying road signs, and stopping at a red light. And, while most people follow them, there are others that are easier to put on the back burner due to distractions, such as using a turn signal. But, what does Florida law say about it? Can you get a ticket for not using a turn signal? And if so, are there any ways to contest it?

Overview of Florida’s Turn Signal Law

Florida Statutes Section 316.155 establishes the legal requirements regarding turn signals in the Sunshine State. Specifically, it provides that no person may turn a vehicle unless such movement can be made with reasonable safety, and only after giving an appropriate signal. This requirement applies whenever any other vehicle may be affected by the movement. In addition, a person using a turn signal must do so the following way:

  • Give the signal continuously for at least 100 feet before turning
  • No person may stop or suddenly decrease their speed without first giving a signal
  • Use a signal when turning or overtaking a vehicle

The only exception to the continuity for 100 feet rule is if the person making the turn signal is riding a bicycle and the person needs both hands to control the bike.

Can I get a ticket for not using a turn signal in Florida?

Violating Florida’s turn signal law constitutes a noncriminal traffic infraction. In addition to having to pay a financial penalty, it could also result in assessing four points against your driving record. You will have 30 days from the date of the ticket to pay the fee or contest it. If you fail to do either, you may risk having your driver’s license suspended and will incur late fees.

How a Lawyer Can Help If You Get a Ticket for Your Turn Signal in Florida

Every time you get a traffic ticket in Florida, the back of the ticket includes information on how to contest it. If you received a ticket for allegedly not using a turn signal when you did use it — or if there were no other vehicles that would have been affected by the movement — you can request a hearing to contest it. You must do so in the timeframe established on the back of the ticket.

The law enforcement officer who issued the ticket will also be summoned to appear at the hearing, and your attorney will be able to interrogate them regarding the details in question. If there were any surveillance videos from either a residential or commercial property — or from a traffic light — your attorney will request a copy. Any available witnesses may be questioned. An experienced attorney will look at all the details of your case to determine whether there’s a way to fight the ticket.

Call Clark Law If You’re Contesting a Traffic Ticket in Tampa Bay

If you or someone you love has been involved in an accident or is wondering about whether a ticket can be contested, call us at (855) 680-4911 or schedule a free consultation. At Clark Law, we have experienced attorneys who regularly represent clients involved in motor vehicle accidents, and we can help you determine the best course of action.

Disclaimer: This blog is for informational purposes only and does not create an attorney/client relationship.

Comments