On a scale from 1 to 10, being involved in a car accident tends to hit the higher end of the stress spectrum. After the initial scare, you may face medical issues, damage to your car, absence from work, car rental, possible litigation, and points on your driving record.
How Does the Traffic Point System Work In Florida?
The Florida Traffic Point System was designed to keep track of all traffic violations. Some infractions result in more points than others. The least amount of points you can accumulate for a single infraction is three, with a maximum of six. If you receive 12 or more points within 12 months, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days. 18 points in 18 months equals a three-month suspension, while 24 points within 36 months results in a suspended license for a minimum of one full year.
Each point increases your car insurance premium by a specific amount, so the more points you accumulate, the higher your insurance premium increases.
How Many Points Do You Accrue By Getting Into a Car Accident?
If the accident was caused by your speeding, you’ll accrue six points on your driving record. If you leave the scene of an accident, add six more points.
If you have three car accidents within 36 months, you’ll be required to take a Driving Improvement course. The class is also mandated for people who have a second car accident within two years or who caused a crash that resulted in death, or bodily injury that required a person or persons to be transported to the hospital.
How to Get Points Off Your License After a Car Accident
Online Traffic School
You can avoid points on your record by taking online taking traffic school courses approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FDHSMV). Once you complete a course, it takes between 24 and 72 hours for the electronic certificate to be reported to the FDHSMV. If you have been ordered by a judge to take the courses, it is your responsibility to file a certificate of completion with the Court.
Another way to attempt dismissal of points is to appeal the ticket it Court. Instructions on how to challenge the infraction are located on the back of the ticket. You’ll need to contact the Court specified on the document and schedule a hearing. Supply the citation number and your full name and contact information (address and phone number).
If you choose to take the court appeal route, it’s in your best interest to consult with an attorney. While you’re not required to have an attorney, choosing to fight the ticket in court means that you’re forfeiting your right to take traffic school courses, so if you lose, the points will remain on your record. Therefore, to cover all your bases, it’s a good idea to hire an experienced lawyer who knows how these cases work, and the viable arguments to help your case.
Call Us at Clark Law for a Consultation
If you or someone you love was involved in a car accident, call us at (855) 680-4911 or schedule a free consultation. The longer you wait, the higher the chance that you’ll miss your opportunity to file for certain types of damages, or obtain evidence for your case.