Being involved in any type of accident is a scary and stressful situation. While remaining calm and calling for help is the correct response, it is not unusual for people to panic in such an intense situation. During a panicked state, we can make decisions that can affect us for the rest of our lives, such as leaving the scene of the crime.
If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, you need an experienced attorney on your side. The penalties for such a charge are serious and can include jail time and license suspension, but the legal team at Clark Law is here to help you through this trying time.
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of An Accident
If an individual is in an accident and does not comply with the duty exchange of information and there is no personal injury, the offense is only considered a noncriminal traffic violation.
Leaving the scene of an accident is considered any instance where an individual leaves an accident scene in which there is property damage. This is a second-degree misdemeanor and the penalties include:
- Up to 60 days in jail
- Loss of license
- Increased car insurance payments
If there is personal injury, leaving the scene of an accident may be considered a third-degree felony and include penalties of up to five years in jail.
According to the Florida Statutes Section 316.027, if a person leaves the scene of an accident where a death occurred, then the charge is elevated to a first-degree felony punishable by up to 30 years in a Florida State prison.
Possible Defenses for Leaving the Scene of An Accident
Avoiding Obstruction — If you were trying to keep your vehicle from obstructing traffic, your attorney can detail that the act is permissible to move your vehicle a safe distance to comply with the statute.
Hire An Experienced Leaving the Scene Attorney
If you have been charged or believe you are about to be charged with leaving the scene of a crime, call us immediately. The firm of Clark Law can help not only to defend you in these situations but also best advise you on how to protect your record and safeguard the things that matter most to you. Call us immediately at (855) 680-4911.