What Happens If You Get Into a Car Accident With an Uninsured Motorist in Florida?

What Happens If You Get Into an Car Accident With an Uninsured Driver in Florida

It’s against the law to drive a vehicle without auto insurance coverage in Florida. However, it happens more often than you think.

According to the Insurance Research Council, Florida has the highest percentage of uninsured drivers, with 26.7 percent of Florida drivers being uninsured.

That means on average, 1 in 4 drivers in Florida are driving without proper auto insurance.

Why are so many people driving without insurance? It’s hard to say, but these could be out of state drivers, people who can’t afford it, people who don’t want or believe in insurance, or people who lapsed in coverage unknowingly.

Being involved in a car accident with someone who doesn’t have insurance shouldn’t be your problem, and you shouldn’t have to shoulder the bills while your insurance pays for their expenses.

Learn your options.

File a Claim With Your Insurance

Florida is a no-fault state, and Florida law requires that drivers carry personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) as part of their auto insurance coverage.

Regardless of who is at fault, PIP provides drivers with a minimum of $10,000 for medical coverage.

The goal of PIP coverage is to immediately allow injured drivers the means to pay for their medical costs as well as reduce the number of car accident cases that need to go through the court system.

PIP only covers 80% of your medical expenses, lost wages, and death benefits up to $10,000, so if the other driver is at fault unless you have additional optional coverage, anything above that amount will need to be paid out of your pocket.

Need a St. Petersburg Car Accident Lawyer?
Call Us At (855) 680-4911 or
Schedule Your Free Consultation With One of Our Attorneys

Check If You Have Optional Insurance Coverages: Uninsured Motorist Coverage and Collision Coverage

Before suing the at-fault party, we recommend utilizing any optional insurance coverages you may have purchased but not know about.

These optional insurance coverages include:

  • Uninsured motorist coverage
  • Collision coverage

Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage pays for additional medical expenses incurred when the at-fault driver has no insurance or is underinsured. This coverage only applies if you did not cause the auto accident.

Collision coverage pays for damages to your vehicle after an accident. As mentioned above as part of your auto insurance, PDL provides drivers with a minimum of $10,000 to use towards damage to the other driver’s vehicle, not their own vehicle.

Sue the At-Fault Driver

As a last resort, if the other party is at fault, you can sue to collect the remaining 20% that PIP doesn’t cover or to pay for damages to your vehicle.

Even though Florida is a no-fault state, you can sue the other driver if your injuries were severely disfiguring, permanent, resulted in death, or if your medical expenses exceed the $10,000 limit that PIP covers.

Many uninsured drivers don’t have insurance because they can’t afford it, so getting compensation after an accident can be difficult, but not impossible.

All car accidents are different. For the best results, it’s important to discuss the details of your case with an experienced car accident attorney as soon as possible.

Contact a Clark Hartpence Law Car Accident Lawyer in St. Petersburg

Don’t get stuck footing the bill for your medical expenses and the damage to your vehicle when you did nothing wrong. Contact us today to go over the details of your accident and determine your legal options.

If you or someone you love was involved in an accident, call us at (855) 680-4911 or schedule a free consultation.

Disclaimer: This blog is for informational purposes only and does not create an attorney/client relationship.